NOMINATION for 2005 VIKTOR HAMBURGER OUTSTANDING EDUCATOR PRIZE

<u>Objective</u>: Established in 2002 by the Board of Directors and sponsored by the Professional Development and Education Committee of the **Society for Developmental Biology**, this award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to developmental biology education.

<u>Eligibility</u>: A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to education in developmental biology. Contributions will be construed in the broadest context and may include teaching at any level; training professionals; organizing and administrating programs; integrating developmental biology into our educational system; or disseminating reliable information to professional members, to prospective developmental biologists, to students in other fields, or to the general public. Candidates are not required to be **SDB** members but must be nominated at least by **two SDB members**. Prize recipient must be able to deliver a lecture at the Education Symposium at the SDB Annual Meeting.

<u>Selection</u>: An Awards Committee composed of **SDB** Directors and members chaired by President-elect (Elliot Meyerowitz for 2005 award) will consider all nominations and will make recommendations to the **SDB** Board of Directors who will make the final selection.

<u>Prizes</u>: A check in the amount of \$1000 and an award will be presented to the winner at the **SDB** 64th Annual Meeting (Hyatt Embarcadero, San Francisco, CA, July 27-Aug 1, 2005). The winner will be invited to attend the annual meeting, with travel and housing paid for by **SDB**, and the meeting registration fee will be waived.

Deadline for receipt of nominations for 2005 award: December 1, 2004. Nominations may be sent to **SDB** office by email (sdb@faseb.org), FAX (301-634-7825) or letter (9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3998, U.S.A.).

Past recipients: Scott Gilbert, Lewis Wolpert and Leon Browder.